Managing User Groups
  • 18 May 2022
  • 4 Minutes to read
  • Dark
    Light

Managing User Groups

  • Dark
    Light

Create user groups so that you can assign the same permissions to multiple people at once. For example, when building and sharing dashboards, instead of selecting individual users, select a user group. This way you can share a dashboard with all the members of that user group at once.

Accessing User Group Management

You can add, edit, and delete user groups, and assign users to them.
To access the user group settings, click the Admin tab and click Groups in the menu.

  • A list of the previously defined user groups is displayed
  • The Origin column displays Sisense or Active Directory to indicate whether the user group was defined in Sisense or if it was imported from Active Directory
  • If no user groups are defined, the following message is displayed: No Groups Found

Creating a New User Group

The following describes how to create a new user group and add users to it.
For a description of how to add a user group from Active Directory, see Integrating Active Directory.

Note:
  • When users are added in Active Directory to a previously imported Active Directory user group, those users are automatically added to the corresponding Sisense user group.
  • Additional users can't be added to a user group that was imported from Active Directory.
  1. Click the Admin tab and click Groups in the menu.

  2. Click Add Group.
    8-6groupv7thumb0300.png

  3. In a Group Name field, enter the name for this user group.

  4. In the Group Users field, select the users who will belong to this group. To add a user, start entering the user’s name. An auto-complete list shows existing Sisense users. Select a name to add it to the group.

Note:

You can leave the group empty and add members to it later.

  1. (Optional) Select Design Theme for the group.
  2. (Optional) Select a default language. The Default Language for a group is the language set by an Administrator for that server. For example, if your server supports groups located in different countries, you can set the language for each group.
  3. (Optional) Select the default members role. If you have implemented SSO over SAML, every group member is assigned this role when they log in for the first time. If you haven't implemented SSO over SAML, or if you create users manually, when you add a new user to an existing user group, the user receives the role you assigned to them when you created that user.
  4. (Optional) Enable or disable the Limit sharing to Group setting. If enabled, the group does not display in any list for sharing.
  5. (Optional) The Session Inactivity Timeout options are displayed only if you have selected Session Inactivity for your session management. You can use the system default for a group or manually set how many minutes must pass before the group’s users are logged out.
Note:

If the user belongs to multiple groups, the highest timeout settings are applied to that user.
For more information about these settings, see User Sessions.

  1. Click Create.

Adding Users to an Existing User Group

To add users to an existing user group:

  1. Click the Admin tab and click Users in the menu.
  2. Select the users you want to add to the user group.
Note:

You can't nest user groups, so you can only select users, not user groups.

  1. Click + Add to Group.
  2. In the Group Users field, enter additional user names to add more users. An auto-complete list shows existing Sisense users. Select a user to add to the group.
  3. Click Add.

Adding Users to an Existing User Group

The following procedure describes how to add one or more users to an existing user group.
To add multiple users to a user group:

  1. Click the Admin tab and click Users in the menu.
  2. Select a user and click 8-6edit2.png to edit their profile.
  3. Click + Add to Group.
  4. Select a group to add the user to, or create a new group by entering the new group's name.
  5. Click Add. The groups that the user is a member of appear in the Groups section of their user profile.
  6. Click Save.

Editing an Existing User Group

To edit an existing user group:

  1. Click the Admin tab and click Groups in the menu.
  2. Click on the right of the user group’s entry in the list.
  3. Modify the group as necessary.
Note:

To remove a user from the Group, next to the user's name, click .

  1. Click Save.

Deleting a User Group

When a user group that was entered in Sisense is deleted, its users aren't deleted. They remain active users in Sisense.

When a user group that was imported from Active Directory is deleted, a prompt is displayed asking whether you want to also delete all the users in this user group from Sisense.

To delete an existing user group:

  1. Click the Admin tab and click Groups in the menu.
  2. Click to the right of the user group’s entry in the list.
  3. In the confirmation screen, click Delete.

Was this article helpful?