This section describes how to add and manage Sisense users that can access Sisense dashboards.

You can add users using the following methods:

  • Add new users by entering them one by one or in bulk.
  • Add new users from your Active Directory database. Click here to learn how to configure your Active Directory in Sisense.

To access the user management settings:

  • Click ADMIN in the top-right corner and select the USERS tab on the left. By default, the only available user after installing Sisense is the user that installed Sisense. By default, this user is an Admin.

Adding a New User

To add a new user:

  1. Click the ADD USERS button. If a connection with Active Directory also exists, an additional ADD ACTIVE DIRECTORY USERS option is available. Click it to select a user from Active Directory.

  1. Fill in the user’s details in the window.
  2. (Optional) The Language for your account is the language set by an Administrator for your group or server. From the Language list, you can override those settings and select the language you prefer to be displayed in the Sisense Web Application.
  3. Select the Role of the user:
    • Sisense Viewers can view, explore, drill down, make selections and filter the Dashboards that Designers share with them. Viewers only need a standard web browser; no plugins or downloads. They cannot create new Dashboards or edit existing ones.
    • Sisense Designers create, design, edit and share Dashboards. Sisense Designers determine whether the user with who they share a Dashboard has editing rights (is a Designer) or only viewing rights (Viewer).
    • Sisense Admin: Admins have all the rights of Designers and Viewers. In addition, only admin users can access the MANAGE section which enables them to manage ElastiCubes, users, user groups and more. Sisense supports multiple Admin users.
  1. Click SAVE. The user then receives an email from Sisense that redirects the user to activate his/her account and set a password.

To manually set a password for the new user:

Set the Define Password option to ON and enter a password before saving.

 define pass

In this case, the user receives an invitation email. You must personally notify the user of the password that you set for him/her.

Adding Multiple Users

To add multiple users:

  1. Click the ADD MANY option at the top right of the Add users window.

In the displayed text box, paste a comma separated list of emails and click NEXT.

The next screen enables you to assign Viewer or Designer rights to the users that you entered and to verify that the user count and permissions match your license.

  1. After you click ADD, each user receives an activation email.

Editing an Existing User

To edit an existing user:

  1. Click ADMIN in the upper right corner and select the USERS tab on the left.
  2. Click the Pencil Users and User Groups -5 button on the right of the user’s entry in the list.

Deleting a User

To delete an existing user:

  1. Click ADMIN in the upper right corner and select the USERS tab on the left.
  2. Click the Trash Users and User Groups -6 button at the right of the user’s entry in the list.